Are Skips vegan?

This post may contain affiliate links. If you click one, I may earn a commission at no cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Manufacturers may change their ingredients at any time so please always double-check for yourself before purchasing anything.

Skips are prawn cocktail flavoured snacks that fizz and melt on your tongue. First launched in 1974, Skips are as popular now as they were when we were kids.

But are Skips vegan? Or does the prawn flavour come from real shellfish? Read on, and I’ll explain all…

Packet of skips

Are KP Skips vegan?

Skips are vegan as they do not contain any animal-derived ingredients. However, Skips are labelled as vegetarian, not vegan. This is because they are produced in a factory that handles milk products, so there is a chance of cross-contamination.

Skips do not contain prawns, milk or any other ingredients from animals. Many vegans love to eat these accidentally-vegan snacks.

Skips ingredients:

Tapioca Starch, Sunflower Oil (32%), Maize Flour, Prawn Cocktail Flavour [Sugar, Salt, Natural Flavourings, Acid: Citric Acid, Dried Onion, Natural Vinegar Flavouring, Potassium Chloride, Yeast Extract, Spice, Dried Tomato, Natural Pepper Flavourings, Colour: Paprika Extract], Rice Protein, Sugar, Salt, Colour: Paprika Extract

back of a packet of skips

Is there dairy in Skips?

Skips do not contain any milk or dairy in the ingredients. However, Skips contain a warning that says ‘May contain milk’. This means that there is a chance that the product could be contaminated with milk during production. People with milk allergies should avoid Skips.

Most vegans accept food that may contain milk as being vegan-friendly. This is because any milk present will be in trace amounts that are barely detectable. The machinery in food factories is cleaned between making different products.

If you’re a very strict vegan or may become ill from trace amounts of milk, then you should avoid Skips along with all foods that are not made in a dedicated milk-free environment.

KP Skips

Are supermarket own-brand Skips vegan?

Not all supermarket own-brand versions of Skips are vegan. Asda Prawn Cocktail Shells contain milk. Tesco, Sainsbury’s and M&S Prawn Cocktail Shells, however, are all suitable for vegans.

Are prawn cocktail crisps vegan?

Most prawn cocktail crisps are vegan, including:

  • Morrison’s prawn cocktail crisps
  • Sainsbury’s prawn cocktail crisps
  • Seabrook prawn cocktail crisps
  • Tyrell’s posh prawn cocktail crisps
  • Walkers prawn cocktail crisps

McCoy’s Sizzling King Prawn crisps and prawn cocktail Pringles are suitable for vegetarians, but not vegans as they contain milk.

To conclude

Despite being flavoured like prawns, Skips are vegan-friendly as they don’t contain ingredients from any animals at all. So vegans can continue to enjoy these light and floaty, fizzy and melty tapioca-based snacks.

Related posts:

Before you go!

I'd love to help you to...

1. Get a freebie - Try vegan meal replacement shakes for free

2. Feel great - Try my favourite vegan multivitamin

3. Be a smarter vegan - Join my email list for vegan news and tips