Sorry to break it to you, but it’s impossible to buy a car that is 100% vegan. However, as it’s often not practical for many people to avoid having a car in today’s society, vegans who need to drive a car should look for the most vegan-friendly car options. This article explains why cars are … Read more Vegan cars: How to buy a car as a vegan
Choosing gravy can be a bit of a minefield for vegans and vegetarians. While gravy was traditionally made from meat juices and used to pour over a Sunday dinner, modern gravy granules are often made only from plant-based ingredients. So, are Bisto gravy granules vegan? The answer depends on which variety of vegan gravy you … Read more Is Bisto gravy vegan or vegetarian?
Sometimes you’ll see the words ‘may contain milk’ or ‘may contain traces of milk’ on food labels. Whether or not these products are suitable for vegans is a common question, and not all vegans agree on the answer. What does ‘may contain’ actually mean? If a product is labelled with ‘may contain milk’, it doesn’t … Read more Is food that ‘may contain milk’ vegan?
Rowntrees Jelly Tots are suitable for vegans because they contain no animal ingredients. Unlike many jelly sweet, Jelly Tots do not contain gelatine, meaning that vegans and vegetarians can enjoy these sweet treats. Vegans should be aware that although Jelly Tots are vegan, they are manufactured on the same production line as Rowntrees Fruit Gums, … Read more Are Jelly Tots vegan?
The recipe for Jammie Dodgers has changed several times since the jam-centred shortbread biscuit was introduced in 1966. Jammie Dodgers were vegan for many years until 2016 when Burton’s Biscuit Company adjusted the recipe to ‘improve the flavour and texture’, and added milk protein to this once vegan-friendly snack. The recipe change outranged both vegans … Read more Are Jammie Dodgers vegan? (2020)
You might think that McDonald’s French Fries are made from potatoes, oil and salt. But, you need to know that that’s not the case. Whether or not McDonald’s fries are vegan depends on where in the world you order them. They are vegan in most countries, including the UK. But, the fries that you’ll find … Read more Are McDonald’s fries vegan?
Many people are surprised to learn that most rolling papers aren’t vegan. The problem comes from animal products being used in the glue or the dye that makes the papers white. Those who use cigarette papers to smoke tobacco should be aware that tobacco isn’t vegan either. However, vegan rolling papers do exist and vegans … Read more Vegan rolling papers
Choosing vegan cereal can be a bit of a minefield. Some brands of chocolate cereal are accidentally vegan, which is great. But some plain cereal, which you would expect to be vegan, actually contains hidden animal ingredients. To further confuse things, as veganism is something of a spectrum, strict vegans may choose to avoid ingredients … Read more The complete guide to vegan cereal in the UK
Since their launch in 1881, Rowntree’s Fruit Pastilles had contained gelatine, making them unsuitable for vegetarians and vegans. However, on 15th September 2020, Nestlé announced that Rowntree’s Fruit Pastilles will have a new vegan recipe! When can we expect vegan fruit pastilles? The new vegan Fruit Pastilles recipe will be used across the full range … Read more Are Fruit Pastilles vegan?
Negotiating the biscuit aisle of your local supermarket as a vegan can be a bit of a minefield. But luckily, British vegans needn’t miss out on enjoying a biscuit with their cup of tea, as there are lots of accidentally vegan biscuits to choose from. Whilst some simple biscuits like Rich Tea are generally always … Read more Accidentally vegan biscuits in the UK (2020)