Vegan Maltesers: Where To Get Them

This post may contain affiliate links. If you click one, I may earn a commission at no cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Manufacturers may change their ingredients at any time so please always double-check for yourself before purchasing anything.

Maltesers are light and airy biscuits balls covered in chocolate. Manufactured by Mars, they are one of the most popular chocolate treats in the UK.

If you’re missing Maltesers since going vegan, read on to find out how you can get your Maltesers fix, without harming any animals.

vegan maltesers

Are Maltesers vegan?

Maltesers are not suitable for vegans as they contain milk. They are, however, suitable for those following a vegetarian diet. Maltesers contain palm oil, which some people choose to avoid because of links with deforestation.

So what’s a vegan to do? Surely new vegans can’t be expected to commit to a life without Maltesers? Fear not, vegan Maltesers alternatives are available. And if you like baking, I’ll also share the recipe for making your own vegan Maltesers.

Maltesers ingredients (UK):

Sugar, Skimmed Milk Powder, Cocoa Butter, Glucose Syrup, Barley Malt Extract, Cocoa Mass, Palm Fat, Lactose and Protein from Whey (from Milk), Whey Powder (from Milk), Milk Fat, Emulsifiers (Soya Lecithin, E492), Wheat Flour, Palm Kernel Fat, Palm Kernel Oil, Raising Agents (E341, E500, E501), Wheat Gluten, Salt, Glazing Agent (Pectin), Natural Vanilla Extract

Are dark chocolate Maltesers vegan?

In some countries, such as Australia, dark chocolate Maltesers are available. As these malted biscuit balls are covered in dark chocolate, rather than milk chocolate, you might think that dark chocolate Maltesers could be suitable for vegans.

Unfortunately, dark chocolate Maltesers are not suitable for vegans as, just like regular Maltesers, they contain milk solids.

Dark chocolate Maltesers ingredients (Australia):

Sugar, Cocoa Mass, Milk Solids, Glucose Syrup (Sources Include Wheat), Barley Malt Extract, Vegetable Fat, Cocoa Butter, Emulsifiers (Soy Lecithin, 492), Wheat Gluten, Raising Agents (501, 500), Salt, Natural Flavour (Vanilla Extract), Pectin.

Can you get vegan Maltesers?

Currently, Mars does not make any vegan or dairy-free Maltesers. If you’re craving Maltesers but don’t want to consume non-human animal milk, then your choices at the moment are to try a vegan alternative to Maltesers or to make your own vegan-friendly homemade Maltesers.

Sign the petition

If you want to help the cause and encourage Mars to create a vegan version of your favourite chocolate biscuit balls, then there’s a petition online to ask them to do just that. You can sign the petition here.

Vegan alternatives to Maltesers

1. Maltybites


Maltybites are the nearest you’ll get to vegan Maltesers. These plant-based snacks are honeycomb flavoured crunchy malt balls coated in chocolate.

Healthier than Maltesers, Maltyballs are high in fibre and free from artificial colours and preservatives.

2. Ballers

In January 2020, UK health food chain Holland & Barrett launched a vegan alternative to Maltesers in 790 of its stores as well as online. The crunchy dark chocolate balls are called ‘Ballers’ and are made by Doisy and Dam.

Also available from the vegan confectionary brand are brightly-coloured, sugar-coated ‘D&Ds’ which are a vegan version of M&Ms and ‘Buttons’ which are similar to Cadbury Dairy Milk Buttons.

As well as being dairy-free, Doisy and Dam’s Ballers are free of palm oil (unlike Maltesers) and also promise a fair deal for cocoa farmers.

Look out for Doisy and Dam’s Ballers in selected branches of Holland & Barrett, Boots, Sainsbury’s and Whole Foods Market. You can also buy Ballers on Amazon.

3. Gnawbles

Gnawbles are crispy protein nibbles that are available in four flavours – Salted Caramel, Dark Chocolate Orange, Creamy Mylk and Cheeky Choc HazelNOT. The nearest one to Maltesers would be the Creamy Mylk.

These chocolate covered balls are free from most allergens, including dairy, gluten, wheat and nuts. They’re also vegan, free from palm oil, artificial flavourings and artificial sweeteners. Plus, unlike Maltesers, the packaging is 100% recyclable.

How to make vegan Maltesers

If you enjoy cooking and baking, then why not have a bash at making your own homemade vegan Maltesers from scratch? Here’s what you’ll need…

Vegan Maltesers recipe



  1. Melt the white chocolate
  2. Crush the rice cereal using a rolling pin
  3. Mix the crushed cereal, malted barley powder and icing sugar in a bowl
  4. Pour in the melted white chocolate and stir until fully mixed
  5. Roll the mixture into small balls
  6. Melt the milk or dark chocolate
  7. Use a fork to dip each ball into the melted chocolate and place on a baking tray to set
  8. Leave to set at room temperature for several hours then store in an airtight container in the refrigerator

So, what will it be?

If you’re desperate to get your hands on vegan Maltesers, your options are:

  1. Sign the petition and wait and hope that Mars brings out a vegan version of Maltesers
  2. Buy some vegan Malteser alternatives online
  3. Make your own vegan Maltesers from scratch

If you find any other ways that vegans can enjoy Maltesers, please let me know in the comments.

Related posts:

Before you go!

I'd love to help you to...

1. Get a freebie - Try vegan meal replacement shakes for free

2. Feel great - Try my favourite vegan multivitamin

3. Be a smarter vegan - Join my email list for vegan news and tips