Are Millions sweets vegan?

This post may contain affiliate links. If you click one, I may earn a commission at no cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Manufacturers may change their ingredients at any time so please always double-check for yourself before purchasing anything.

Millions are tiny chewy sweets that come in nine fruity flavours. You’ll find them in tubes, shakers, bags and jars. But are Millions suitable for vegans or vegetarians? This article will explain everything you need to know.

Are Millions vegan?

Millions are vegan by ingredient. Millions sweets contain no animal ingredients and are certified as vegetarian by the Vegetarian Society. While Millions are not certified as vegan, most vegans would consider Millions to be vegan-friendly.

Do Millions have gelatine?

Millions sweets do not contain gelatine or any other animal ingredients. The chewiness comes from gellan gum, cellulose gum and gum arabic which are all plant-based alternatives to gelatine.

Why are Millions not certified as vegan?

While Millions do not contain any animal ingredients and are certified as vegetarian, they are not certified as vegan. To be certified as vegan, a manufacturer must prove that there is no cross-contamination during production. This is tricky to do as factories tend to produce many different foods, some of which contain milk.

Most vegans accept that cross-contamination with milk products can happen. While some very strict vegans may eat only vegan-certified foods, in reality, this is very difficult to do. Unless you have a severe milk allergy where the tiniest amount of milk will make you ill, you may consider that food items that are produced in the same factory as non-vegan foods to be vegan.

Suggested read: Is food that ‘may contain milk’ vegan?

Millions ingredients

The ingredients for Millions are listed below…

Apple Millions ingredients:

Sugar, Glucose Syrup, Fully Hydrogenated Coconut Oil, Fruit Juices from Concentrate 3% (Grape, Blackcurrant, Raspberry), Acid (Citric Acid), Starch, Vimto Flavouring, Concentrates (Black Carrot, Hibiscus, Elderberry), Maltodextrin, Thickeners (Gellan Gum, Cellulose Gum, Gum Arabic), Emulsifier (Sucrose Esters of Fatty Acids).


Banana Millions ingredients:

Sugar, Glucose Syrup, Coconut Oil, Banana Juice, Starch, Cocoa Butter, Acids (Citric Acid, Malic Acid), Flavourings, Maltodextrin, Thickeners (Gellan Gum, Cellulose Gum, Gum Arabic), Emulsifier (Sucrose Esters of Fatty Acids), Colour (Beta-Carotene).


Blackcurrant Millions ingredients:

Sugar, Glucose Syrup, Fully Hydrogenated Coconut Oil, Blackcurrant Juice form Concentrate (3%), Acid (Citric Acid), Starch, Concentrates (Black Carrot, Hibiscus), Flavouring, Maltodextrin, Thickeners (Gellan Gum, Cellulose Gum, Gum Arabic), Emulsifier: E473.


Bubblegum Millions ingredients:

Sugar, Glucose Syrup, Fully Hydrogenated Coconut Oil, Starch, Acid (Citric Acid), Maltodextrin, Flavouring, Thickeners (Gellan Gum, Cellulose Gum, Gum Arabic), Emulsifier (Sucrose Esters of Fatty Acids), Colour (Brilliant Blue FCF).


Cola Millions ingredients:

Sugar, Glucose Syrup, Fully Hydrogenated Coconut Oil, Citric Acid, Starch, Concentrates (safflower, black carrot, spirulina), Maltodextrin, Flavouring, Thickeners (Gellan Gum, Cellulose Gum, Gum Arabic), Emulsifier (E473).


Iona Brew Millions ingredients:

Sugar, Glucose Syrup, Coconut Oil, Orange Juice From Concentrate (3%), Acids (Citric Acid, Malic Acid), Starch, Cocoa Butter, Maltodextrin, Flavouring, Thickeners (Gellan Gum, Cellulose Gum, Gum Arabic), Emulsifier: E473, Colours (Beta-Carotene, Beetroot Red)


Strawberry Millions ingredients:

Sugar, Glucose Syrup, Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil, Strawberry Juice From Concentrate, Acid (Citric Acid), Starch, Gelling Agents (E414, E418), Flavouring, Concentrates (Elderberry, Black Carrot), Emulsifier (E473).


Raspberry Millions ingredients:

Sugar, Glucose Syrup, Fully Hydrogenated Coconut Oil, Raspberry Juice from Concentrate (3%), Citric Acid, Starch, Maltodextrin, Concentrates (Radish, Lemon, Blackcurrant), Flavouring, Thickeners (Gellan Gum, Cellulose Gum, Gum Arabic), Emulsifier (E473).


Vimto Millions ingredients:

Sugar, Glucose Syrup, Fully Hydrogenated Coconut Oil, Fruit Juices from Concentrate 3% (Grape, Blackcurrant, Raspberry), Acid (Citric Acid), Starch, Vimto Flavouring, Concentrates (Black Carrot, Hibiscus, Elderberry), Maltodextrin, Thickeners (Gellan Gum, Cellulose Gum, Gum Arabic), Emulsifier (Sucrose Esters of Fatty Acids).

Where to buy Millions

Millions lovers can buy huge 5 lb jars of Millions on Amazon. You can also get Millions gift hampers which contain all the different Millions flavours, presented in a gift box.

Vegan Millions flavours

All flavours of Mliions are suitable for vegans and vegetarians as they do not contain any animal ingredients. This includes the blue bubblegum Millions.

While bubblegum is usually not vegan due to gelatine (from bones, skin and connective tissue) and lanolin (from wool), bubblegum Millions do not contain these ingredients.

Some Millions are kosher

Some flavours of Millions sweets are kosher approved. These are apple, blackcurrant, bubblegum, cola, raspberry and strawberry. The Vimto, Iron Brew and banana Millions are not kosher approved.

Beware of cheap imitation Millions!

While official Millions that are made by Golden Casket (Greenock) Ltd are vegan, some other Millions-style sweets that are manufactured by other brands may not be. As copycat Million sweets may or may not be suitable for vegans and vegetarians, you should always check the ingredients before you make a purchase.

The bottom line

Millions sweets are vegan-friendly chewy sweets that do not contain any animal ingredients. Millions are certified as vegetarian by the Vegetarian Society. While they do not have a vegan certification, this is most likely because the sweets are made in the same factory as other products that contain milk. Most vegans will be happy to eat Millions.

Related posts: