This site contains affiliate links to products. I may receive a commission for purchases made through these links.
Manufacturers may change their ingredients at any time so please always double-check for yourself before purchasing anything.
Rowntree’s Jelly Tots are suitable for vegans because they contain no animal ingredients. Unlike many jelly sweets, Jelly Tots do not contain gelatine, meaning that vegans and vegetarians can enjoy these sweet treats.
What are Jelly Tots made of?
Rowntree’s Jelly Tots do not have any animal ingredients. The ingredients are:
Jelly Tots ingredients
- Glucose Syrup
- Acids (Malic Acid, Citric Acid, Lactic Acid)
- Concentrated Fruit Juices (1%) (Apple, Grape, Blackcurrant, Orange, Lemon, Lime, Strawberry)
- Acidity Regulator (Trisodium Citrate)
- Colours (Anthocyanins, Copper Complexes of Chlorophyllins, Carotenes, Curcumin)
Vegans should be aware that although Jelly Tots are vegan, they are manufactured on the same production line as Rowntree’s Fruit Gums, which contain gelatine. Therefore, there is a chance of cross-contamination.
Most vegans accept that cross-contamination in food factories is generally unavoidable, and only the very small traces of animal products would be present in Jelly Tots.
As Jelly Tots do not contain any animal ingredients like gelatine, they are suitable for vegans, vegetarians and Hindus, Muslims and Jews who may follow special diets for religious reasons.
More vegan sweets from Rowntree’s
As well as Jelly Tots, Rowntree’s also make Fruit Gums, Fruit Pastilles, Pick & Mix and Randoms.
The great news for vegans is that Fruit Pastilles have had their recipe changed in 2020 to remove the gelatine and they are now suitable for vegans too!
Read more: Are Fruit Pastilles vegan?
Let’s hope that the company follows suit with their other products so that more vegans and vegetarians can enjoy the sweets that they used to love in childhood.