Is Turkish Delight vegan or vegetarian?

This post may contain affiliate links. If you click one, I may earn a commission at no cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Manufacturers may change their ingredients at any time so please always double-check for yourself before purchasing anything.

Turkish Delight (also known as lokum) is a type of sweet confectionary that originates from Turkey. It’s made from a gel of starch and sugar that’s formed into a cube shape and dusted with icing sugar.

Turkish Delight comes in many flavours such as rosewater, lemon, orange, dates, pistachios, cinnamon, coconut or mint. But is Turkish Delight vegan? Is it suitable for vegetarians? Read on for all you need to know.

Vegan Turkish Delight

What is traditional Turkish Delight made from?

Turkish Delight dates back to the 18th century when it was first made in Turkey by a confectioner by the name of Bekir Efendi. It was made with very simple ingredients that were around at the time.

Traditional Turkish Delight ingredients:

  • Sugar
  • Cornstarch
  • Water
  • Lemon juice
  • Oil
  • Rosewater
  • Food colouring
  • Icing sugar

Turkish Delight has a naturally bouncy, chewy texture which comes from the gel of starch and sugar. The texture can be similar to sweets that contain gelatine, which is made from the bones, ligaments and tendons of animals such as cows and pigs.

Does Turkish Delight have gelatine in it?

Authentic Turkish Delight does not contain gelatine. However, some commercially-produced Turkish Delight does contain gelatine to thicken it. Most traditional Turkish Delight recipes do not contain gelatine, but some people believe that adding gelatine makes it quicker and easier to make.

Is there dairy in Turkish Delight?

Turkish Delight does not contain any dairy products. However, sometimes you will find Turkish Delight that is covered in milk chocolate, which is obviously not suitable for vegans and those with dairy intolerances.

Is traditional Turkish Delight vegan?

Traditionally, Turkish Delight is vegan. However, some commercially-produced Turkish Delight may include gelatine which would make it not suitable for vegans or vegetarians. Occasionally, Turkish Delight may be sweetened with honey or covered in milk chocolate, which would make it not suitable for vegans.

Vegan Turkish Delight brands

Luckily, there are many brands of vegan Turkish Delight, so you don’t need to travel to Turkey to enjoy traditional vegan-friendly lokum! 

Where to buy vegan Turkish Delight in the UK…

If you’re looking for authentic vegan-friendly Turkish Delight without gelatine or other animal ingredients, you’ll find lots of choice on Amazon.

1. Chateau de Mediterranean Assorted Turkish Delight Mix

Chateau de Mediterranean Turkish Delight is handmade in Turkey with no animal products, preservatives or additives. It comes in five delicious flavours – mint, orange, rose, lemon and pomegranate.

This Turkish Delight would be ideal to give as a gift as it comes lovingly-presented in a metal tin, which you can keep to store vegan biscuits or whatever else you fancy.

Check price on Amazon

2. Truede Rose Turkish Delight

If you love traditional rose flavoured Turkish Delight then Truede is highly recommended with lots of five-star reviews on Amazon. It’s hand-made by artisans in Istanbul and certified vegan according to the Vegetarian Society.

Check price on Amazon

3. KAKOA Epic Turkish Delight Milk Chocolates

Vegans can absolutely enjoy milk chocolate-covered Turkish Delight with these handmade dairy-free confections which are dipped in milk chocolate that’s made with rice milk and almond milk.

Flavoured with zesty lemon and fragrant rose, they’re beautifully presented in a gift box which is 10% biodegradable.

Check price on Amazon

FAQs about vegan and vegetarian Turkish Delight

Is Fry’s Turkish Delight vegan?

Fry’s Turkish Delight is a chocolate bar that is made by Cadbury. It does not contain gelatine and is suitable for vegetarians, but it is covered in milk chocolate so it is not suitable for vegans.


Is Thornton’s Turkish Delight vegan?

Thornton’s Turkish Delights is not suitable for vegans as it is covered in milk chocolate. It is, however, suitable for vegetarians as it does not contain any gelatine.


Is Aldi Turkish Delight vegan?

Aldi Dominion Turkish Delight is suitable for vegans as it does not contain any animal-derived ingredients. The pomegranate flavour is also vegan.


The bottom line

To conclude, any Turkish Delight that’s made to a traditional recipe will be vegan. However, that’s not to say that all Turkish Delight is suitable for vegans and vegetarians as sometimes gelatine or honey is added.

Be sure to check the packaging before you buy.

Related posts:

Before you go!

I'd love to help you to...

1. Get a freebie - Try vegan meal replacement shakes for free

2. Feel great - Try my favourite vegan multivitamin

3. Be a smarter vegan - Join my email list for vegan news and tips