Domino’s Vegan Pizza Review (UK)

This post may contain affiliate links. If you click one, I may earn a commission at no cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Domino’s launched its vegan-friendly pizza range in all 1,200 UK stores on 7th September 2020. The range includes vegan pizzas made with vegan dough and vegan cheese, as well as a brand new vegan garlic and herb dip!

This successful launch was followed by the debut of a new vegan chicken pizza and vegan chicken dippers side for Veganuary in January 2021.

This Domino’s vegan pizza review includes photos of the vegan pizzas (including the new vegan chicken-style pizza) and thorough information on what you can expect when you order a vegan pizza from Domino’s in the UK.

Is Domino’s vegan pizza good?

Domino’s vegan pizza is really good – almost as good as the vegetarian version. The only real difference between them is the texture of the cheese, which is a little sticky rather than chewy as dairy cheese would be. Overall, Domino’s vegan pizzas taste great.

Dominos vegan pizza vegi supreme
My vegan Domino’s pizza was delicious!

Domino’s vegan cheese

Of course, vegans who used to eat cow cheese will be familiar with the differences between dairy cheese and vegan cheese alternatives. So, you’d never really expect to find chewy, stringy mozzarella on a vegan pizza anyway.

The cheese that Domino’s UK uses is its own brand, rather than the ‘Sheese’ that Papa John’s uses or the ‘Violife’ that Pizza Hut uses. That said, the cheese tastes pretty darn good for vegan cheese. It sticks to the roof of your mouth a little, but it doesn’t have so much of that vegan cheese smell that many people find offputting.

Whether you like vegan cheese alternatives or not, you should give this a go.

Domino’s vegan pizza base

Domino’s vegan pizza uses a different base than their vegetarian pizzas, as those contain milk. Luckily, the vegan bases taste exactly the same. They both have that lovely salty, sugary coating which makes Domino’s pizzas so addictive.

Those who prefer a thinner pizza base will have to wait a while as currently, only the classic crust bases are available to order in the vegan range.

Domino’s vegan pizza toppings

The vegetable toppings on Domino’s vegan pizzas are delicious. All the ingredients are really fresh and tasty.

Vegans who have never tried Domino’s pizza or can’t remember when they last did may be surprised by the tomatoes. These are really chunky and juicy, quite different to what you might expect on most other brands of pizza, but really yummy.

If you’re a fan of fake meat, I think you’ll love the chicken-style pieces on the Domino’s vegan chicken pizza. They taste quite authentic!

Is Domino’s vegan garlic and herb dip good?

The new vegan garlic dip from Domino’s is absolutely fantastic and tastes just like the original version! It looks just the same and has a deliciously creamy, garlicky taste. You’ll want to dip your whole pizza slice in it, not just the crusts.

Domino’s garlic dip has been referred to by some as ‘crack dip’, as it’s just so moreish. And even without casein (the dairy protein which releases casomorphins which trigger dopamine production in your brain), this dip is so addictive that you might want to stock up.

Suggested read: Hellmann’s vegan mayo review

A vegan pizza review from a Domino’s staff member

As I hadn’t had a Domino’s pizza for a good while, I didn’t want my Domino’s cravings to cloud this review and to overstate how good the new vegan pizzas are. So, I asked my (non-vegan) Domino’s delivery driver if he’d tried the vegan pizzas yet.

My Domino’s driver said that he had indeed tried the vegan pizzas, and was pleasantly surprised by how tasty they were! He said that there wasn’t much difference at all between the taste of the vegan pizza and the non-vegan one. So, it’s thumbs up from the expert!

What can vegans eat at Domino’s?

UK vegans can order the following items at Domino’s:

  • Vegan Margherita pizza
  • Vegan Vegi Supreme pizza
  • Vegan Chick-Ain’t pizza – NEW for 2021
  • Vegan Southern-fried nuggets – NEW for 2021
  • Potato wedges
  • Vegan garlic and herb dip
  • Frank’s RedHot dip
  • Barbecue dip
  • Sweet chilli dip
  • Tangy salsa
  • Soft drinks

Suggested read: Is Fanta vegan?

January 2021 update!

Domino’s has launched a brand new pizza in January 2021! The new Chick-Ain’t pizza is a chicken-style pizza featuring vegan soya chicken strips, onions and peppers.

But that’s not all! Domino’s UK has also released a new vegan side dish – crispy Southern-fried nuggets. These will be served with the delicious vegan garlic and herb dip.

Dominos vegan chicken pizza
My Domino’s vegan chicken pizza

I tried the new vegan chicken pizza and I was really impressed. The soy chicken-style pieces were really tasty, even for someone who isn’t a fan of fake meat. The vegan chicken was realistic, and not plasticky as some brands are.

Domino’s vegan pizza options

The Domino’s vegan pizzas you can choose are the Vegan Margherita, the Vegan Vegi Supreme and new for 2021, the Vegan Chicken pizza.

The Margherita is essentially the Vegi Supreme without any toppings on it.

Currently, in most stores, Domino’s vegan pizzas are only available in medium size and classic crust. There are no options for personal, small or large pizzas.

There are also currently no options at Domino’s for a vegan gluten-free pizza, vegan stuffed crust or a vegan thin and crispy base. Selected stores may offer large vegan Italian-style bases.

Domino’s vegan pizza bases are limited to avoid cross-contamination with Domino’s regular pizza bases which contain milk. If you have a dairy allergy, you should advise your local store when you place your order.

Domino’s allow you to customise your vegan pizza in the following ways:

  • Add extra tomato sauce, remove the sauce or swap it for BBQ sauce
  • Add extra vegan cheese or remove it altogether
  • Add extra toppings or remove them

If you add anything additional to your pizza, you will be charged an extra £1.50 for each ingredient that you add. Swaps are done free of charge.

Vegan Domino's pizza
I swapped the onions on my Vegan Vegi Supreme for pineapples

Which is the best Dominos vegan pizza?

The best Domino’s vegan pizza depends on what kind of pizza you like. If you love fake meats, then the vegan chicken pizza ticks those boxes. With the vegan vegi supreme you can choose all your favourite veggies. Or keep it simple with the plain vegan cheese pizza. The choice is yours!

How much does Domino’s vegan pizza cost?

Domino’s vegan pizzas are the same price as the standard pizzas. Rival pizza restaurant and take away chain Pizza Hut charges an extra £1 to £2 for their vegan pizzas, so it’s good to see that Domino’s has kept the pricing consistent.

Suggested read: What’s vegan at Pizza Hut?

Domino’s vegan pizza ingredients

These are the ingredients in Domino’s vegan pizza:

Domino’s vegan pizza base:

WHEAT flour, Premix (WHEAT), Rapeseed oil, Water, Yeast

Domino’s tomato sauce:

This may be sourced from one of two suppliers so the ingredients may be EITHER/OR:

1) Tomato paste, Water, Salt, Sugar, Salt, Garlic, Oregano, Black Pepper, Basil, Chilli, Peppermint, Acidity regulator (Citric acid)

2) Tomatoes, Salt, Sugar, Pepper, Garlic powder, Oregano, Basil, Acidity regulator (citric acid)

Domino’s vegan cheese:

Water, Coconut Oil, Modified Potato Starch, Potato Starch, Salt, Yeast Extract, Dried Yeast, Natural Flavouring, Calcium, Phosphate, Modified Maize Starch, Thickener: Carrageenan, Calcium Chloride, Colour: Carotene

Dominos vegan chicken-style strips:

Water, SOY Protein Concentrate (28%), Sunflower Oil, Salt Natural
Flavourings, Starch, Spices, Sugar, Yeast Extract, Dried Onion, Garlic
Powder, Onion Powder, Smoke Flavouring, Tomato Powder, Vinegar
Powder, Dried Garlic, Thyme.

FAQs about Domino’s vegan pizza

Do Domino’s UK do vegan pizza?

Domino’s Pizza offers Vegan Margherita and Vegan Vegi Supreme pizzas in all UK stores as well as a new Vegan Garlic & Herb Dip. The UK roll-out of vegan pizzas made with vegan cheese and vegan pizza bases happened on 7th September 2020 after successful local trials.

Is Domino’s garlic bread vegan?

Dominos garlic bread in the UK is not suitable for vegans as it contains milk. Domino’s vegan garlic bread is available in Australia.

Which Domino’s do vegan pizza?

Since 7th September 2020, all UK branches of Domino’s offer vegan pizzas subject to availability.

Other countries have enjoyed Domino’s vegan pizzas earlier than the UK and have more extensive menus. For example, Domino’s Australia has a vegan menu which includes plant-based beef toppings and vegan cheesy garlic bread, which is a great sign of things to come.

Is Domino’s vegan pizza healthy?

It’s a misconception that vegan foods are automatically healthier. Domino’s vegan pizzas can’t be considered to be healthy as they contain high amounts of calories, saturated fat and sodium. However, ordering a pizza topped with vegetables is healthier than one topped with meat.

Do Domino’s have vegan cheese?

Domino’s Vegan cheese is now available nationwide in the UK. If you want it, you’ll need to order a vegan pizza. The standard pizzas (which have milk ingredients in the pizza bases) aren’t available with vegan cheese as an option.

What vegan cheese does Domino’s use?

The vegan cheese on Dominos’ UK pizzaz is Domino’s own brand of cheese. Domino’s has not announced a partnership with any vegan cheese brands such as Violife of Sheese.

In Australia, Domino’s vegan cheese is made by vegan food brand Follow Your Heart.

What is Domino’s vegan cheese made from?

Dominos vegan cheese is made using coconut oil and potato starch instead of milk. It also contains salt, yeast, natural falvourings, calcium, corn starch, thickener and colour.

These are the ingredients for Dominos vegan cheese:

Water, Coconut Oil, Modified Potato Starch, Potato Starch, Salt, Yeast Extract, Dried Yeast, Natural Flavouring, Calcium Phosphate, Modified Maize Starch, Thickener: Carrageenan, Calcium Chloride, Colour: Carotene

Is Domino’s vegan pizza gluten-free?

Currently, Domino’s vegan pizzas cannot be made gluten-free. Domino’s gluten-free pizza bases contain egg, whereas Domino’s vegan pizza bases contain wheat.

The nearest option for gluten-free vegan pizza at Domino’s would be to order a gluten-free pizza base (ignoring the egg white) and have it with no cheese. Unfortunately, you cannot get vegan cheese added to a gluten-free pizza base at the moment.

Vegan Dominos pizza box with sticker
Each vegan-friendly pizza has a special label so you know it’s the right one

The bottom line

I was very pleased by how tasty my vegan Domino’s pizza was and will definitely be ordering from there again!

For UK vegans and those with dairy intolerances, it’s super exciting news that Domino’s vegan pizzas are now available for takeaway and delivery. Whilst the range is limited at the moment, this is a great sign of things to come and we look forward to more exciting new vegan options from the global pizza chain in the future.

Have you enjoyed a vegan Domino’s pizza yet? Please share your review in the comments below.

Related posts:

Before you go!

I'd love to help you to...

1. Get a freebie - Try vegan meal replacement shakes for free

2. Feel great - Try my favourite vegan multivitamin

3. Be a smarter vegan - Join my email list for vegan news and tips