Is Pimm’s Vegan?

This post may contain affiliate links. If you click one, I may earn a commission at no cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Manufacturers may change their ingredients at any time so please always double-check for yourself before purchasing anything.

Pimm’s is a fruity gin-based spirit that is made from a secret recipe. As a long drink, Pimm’s is usually served in a cocktail with lemonade and fruit, or it may sometimes be served with sparkling wine.

But, can vegans drink Pimms? In this guide, I’ll explain why the answer is sometimes yes and sometimes no…


Is Pimm’s vegan?

Pimm’s is suitable for vegans – it uses no animal products and all the ingredients are ethically sourced. However, if a Pimm’s cocktail contains sparkling wine, it may not be vegan-friendly. Therefore, when ordering Pimm’s at a bar, vegans should ask for it without sparkling wine to be certain that it is vegan.

Here’s a comment from a Pimm’s brand representative confirming that Pimm’s is vegan-friendly.

“PIMM’S No. 1 Cup, PIMM’S Vodka Cup and PIMM’S and Lemonade (any format) are all suitable for vegetarians and vegans. No animal products are used in the manufacture of any of these products. Cochineal is not used.”

Daniel, Education Officer, PIMM’s

What exactly is Pimm’s?

Pimm’s is a quintessentially British summer drink that dates back to 1840. The liqueur is dark reddish-brown in colour and tastes of citrus fruits and spices.

It’s typically served as a long drink mixed with clear lemonade or ginger ale and poured from a glass jug with various garnishes such as apples, cucumber, oranges, lemon, strawberry and mint.

What is Pimms made of?

Pimms is gin-based. It’s made by infusing gin with a secret blend of botanicals, spices and caramelised fruits.

Gin is vegan, as is Pimm’s. The issue for vegans comes that people rarely drink Pimm’s liqueur on its own. Instead, it’s often mixed with other drinks to create a cocktail. These other drinks aren’t always suitable for vegans.

Pimm's cups

When Pimm’s might not be vegan

Pimm’s is the main ingredient in several Pimm’s-based cocktails so it’s important to note what other types of alcohol might be added to your Pimm’s drink, as these might not be vegan.

For example, Pimm’s Royale is a cocktail that mixes Pimm’s with champagne or sparkling wine. Some champagnes and sparkling wines use fining agents which are derived from animals such as isinglass (fish bladder) and casein (milk protein). Some champagnes are vegan and others aren’t and it’s usually not possible to tell from looking at the label.

The best way to enjoy Pimm’s as a vegan is to ask for your Pimm’s with just lemonade and fruit and hold the sparkling wine. Pimm’s and lemonade is vegan.

Does Pimm’s have milk in it?

Pimm’s does not contain milk or any other animal derivatives. It is suitable for people with milk allergies.

How to enjoy Pimm’s

Pimm’s is synonymous with British summertime, which is why you’ll find it at many iconic cultural events such as the Wimbledon tennis tournament, the Chelsea Flower Show, the summer garden parties of British universities and at the reception of summer weddings.

Pimm’s is widely available in UK supermarkets and makes a great drink to enjoy outdoors at a barbecue, garden party or picnic.

Pimm’s is easily one of the best summer cocktails. Another summer cocktail I love is strawberry mint bourbon smash – you should definitely give that one a try! Alternatively, you’ll find more summer cocktail ideas, over at

Related posts:

Before you go!

I'd love to help you to...

1. Get a freebie - Try vegan meal replacement shakes for free

2. Feel great - Try my favourite vegan multivitamin

3. Be a smarter vegan - Join my email list for vegan news and tips