Is mulled wine vegan? (aka Gluhwein)

This post may contain affiliate links. If you click one, I may earn a commission at no cost to you.
Manufacturers may change their ingredients at any time so please always double-check for yourself before purchasing anything.

When the festive season rolls around, new vegans often find themselves frantically looking up whether Christmas food and drinks like mince pies and brandy are suitable for vegans.

You may be wondering if mulled wine is vegan… After all, it doesn’t often say on the bottle, and if you’re ordering a mug of Gluhwein at a Christmas market or other festive event, there won’t even be a bottle to check!

This post explains whether mulled wine is considered vegan and where you can buy vegan mulled wine in the UK.

Is mulled wine vegan?

Just like red wines, some mulled wines are suitable for vegans and some are not. Some mulled wine or Gluhwein may be filtered with animal products such as gelatine (cow or pig bones) and isinglass (fish bladders). You can check the label, or look up the answer online.

vegan mulled wine

Where to buy vegan mulled wine

Luckily, good vegan mulled wine is easy to find in UK supermarkets during the festive season. It’s priced between £3 and £5.

Here are the best vegan mulled wines to buy in the UK…

Sainsbury’s mulled wine

Sainsbury’s mulled wine is suitable for vegans. We love the label with the MULL IT OVER slogan, although this wine isn’t very strong in terms of alcohol.

  • Size: 75cl
  • ABV: 5.5%
  • Price: £3.00

Asda mulled wine

Asda mulled wine is suitable for vegans. This aromatic, spicy mulled wine is flavoured with warming cinnamon and citrus fruits.

  • Size: 75cl
  • ABV: 8%
  • Price: £3.00

Tesco mulled wine

Tesco mulled wine is vegan. This sweet and fruity wine is blended with cinnamon, clove and citrus fruits. At 5.5% alcohol, it’s not as strong as some of the other vegan mulled wines.

  • Size: 75cl
  • ABV: 5.5%
  • Price: £3.00

Marks & Spencer mulled wine

Marks & Spencer’s red mulled wine is vegan. Also available via Ocado, this rich and fruity red wine drink is flavoured with warming winter spices.

  • Size: 75cl
  • ABV: 11%
  • Price: £5.00

Co-op mulled wine

Co-op mulled wine is suitable for vegans. This warm and fruity British mulled wine is produced and bottled in the UK.

  • Size: 75cl
  • ABV: 8%
  • Price: £4.50

Mulled wine and Gluhwein from budget supermarkets Aldi and Lidl may also be suitable for vegans. These supermarkets do not publish this information online, but it’s worth checking the label if you find a bottle in store.

Vegan alcohol-free mulled wine

Alcohol-free mulled wine will almost always be suitable for vegans as alcohol-free wine doesn’t require the same filtration process as alcoholic wine.

Belvoir Fruit Farms Mulled Winter Punch

This non-alcoholic vegan mulled wine is made with 100% natural ingredients like elderberry, blackcurrant and orange juices and spices.

  • Size: 75cl
  • ABV: 8%
  • Price: Check

How to make vegan mulled wine

Making your own vegan mulled wine at home is easy to do. Here’s how…

  1. In a large saucepan or slow cooker, add 100g of caster sugar, your mulled wine spices and just enough red wine to cover.

  2. Simmer, while stirring, until the sugar has completely dissolved.

  3. Boil for five minutes, or until you have a thick syrup.

    The syrup is required as the sugar and spices need to get very hot. Heating all the wine to this temperature would burn off the alcohol.

  4. Add the remaining red wine and heat until warm.

  5. Add extra alcohol (such as gin) if desired.

  6. Serve in a mug or heatproof glass.

making vegan mulled wine

Conclusion

Most mulled wine is vegan and you’ll find vegan mulled wine available to buy in most UK supermarkets. If you prefer to make your own mulled wine, you can do so by heating any cheap and fruity red wine with sugar and mulled wine spices.

Related posts:

Sharing is caring!