Is Soreen Malt Loaf Vegan?

This post may contain affiliate links. If you click one, I may earn a commission at no cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Manufacturers may change their ingredients at any time so please always double-check for yourself before purchasing anything.

Soreen is the most popular brand of malt loaf in the UK. Soreen is made to a vegetarian recipe, but is it suitable for vegans? The answer isn’t straightforward. Read on to find out why…


Is Soreen vegan?

Soreen malt loaf comes in many varieties – most are vegan and some are not. Those that are suitable for vegans are marked with a vegan label on the packaging. Those that aren’t marked as vegan contain milk.

Which flavours of Soreen are vegan?

These types of Soreen are suitable for vegans:

  • Original Malt Loaf
  • Apple Loaf
  • Banana Loaf
  • Banana Loaf Bar
  • Chocolate Loaf Bar
  • Malt Loaf Bar (individual)
  • Malt Lunchbox Loaves
  • Apple Lunchbox Loaves
  • Banana Lunchbox Loaves
  • Strawberry Lunchbox Loaves
  • Raspberry and White Chocolate Mini Loaves
  • Gingerbread Mini Loaves
  • Fruit & Veg-Mmms Berry & Beetroot Bakes
  • Fruit & Veg-Mmms Orange & Rainbow Carrot Bakes
  • Scream Toffee Apple Mini Loaves
  • Scream Chocolate and Blood Orange Mini Loaves

These types of Soreen are NOT suitable for vegans:

  • Fruity 5 Loaf
  • Malt Loaf Bar (pack of 10)
  • Pre-Buttered Slices

When did Soreen go vegan?

The original Soreen malt loaf has been vegan since December 2020. However, the manufacturer has been gradually making more Soreen varieties to a vegan recipe for several years.

Source: via veganfooduk on Vegan Food UK

Some varieties of Soreen are certified as vegan by the Vegetarian Society and these all carry the ‘vegan approved’ label. However, many varieties of Soreen have milk in the ingredients.

When shopping for Soreen malt loaf in your local supermarket, it’s important to look at the packaging to see if it’s vegan or not.

Apple, strawberry and banana flavours of Soreen are all vegan. You may be surprised to learn that the chocolate loaf bars are vegan too.

Where it becomes confusing is with the original malt loaf and the original malt loaf bars. Single 42g malt loaf bars are suitable for vegans, but ten-packs of the same malt loaf bars contain milk!

Whether Soreen is vegan or not is a situation that is likely to change over time as the company adjusts its ingredients, so always check the packaging before you buy.

Does Soreen contain palm oil?

Soreen contains sustainably-sourced palm oil. Some vegans choose to avoid products which contain palm oil that was not produced in a sustainable way because unsustainable palm oil production is damaging to the environment and the habitats of animals. As all of the palm oil in Soreen is sustainably-produced, this is not a cause for concern.


Vegans who love to eat Soreen malt loaf are able to enjoy the apple, banana, chocolate and strawberry varieties. Original Soreen is now vegan too most of the time, but be sure to chech the pack as ths can vary depending on whether you buy bars individually or as a pack of ten.

Related posts:

Before you go!

I'd love to help you to...

1. Get a freebie - Try vegan meal replacement shakes for free

2. Feel great - Try my favourite vegan multivitamin

3. Be a smarter vegan - Join my email list for vegan news and tips